Champions Program

Championing the clean energy revolution: A program for recognizing and supporting the next wave of energy technology leaders

Meet the 2020 Mission Innovation Champions!

  • Australia: Anna Skarbek – CEO Climate Works Australia
  • Austria: Jürgen Mayerhofer – CEO Enspired-
  • Canada: Phil De Luna – Program Director, Materials for Clean Fuels Challenge Program at the National Research Council of Canada
  • Chile: Cristián O’Ryan – Founder of Endurance Electric
  • China: Can Li – Chairman of Catalysis Society of China, Dean of Materials and Chemical School of USTC, and the Director of the Dalian National Laboratory for Clean Energy (DNL)
  • European Commission (on behalf of the European Union): Maria Luisa Hernández Latorre – Co-founder and CEO of Ingelia
  • Finland: Krishnaswamy SANKARAN – Chief Executive Officer of Radical Innovations Group Ab
  • France: Ondine Suavet – Co-founder of MyLight Systems
  • Germany: Hans Marius Schuster – Founder and CEO of Arena-Innovation
  • India: Purnima Jalihal  – Head of the Energy and Fresh Water group in the National Institute of Ocean Technology
  • Italy: Alessandra Giannuzzi – Professor of Optics and Physics at Benigno Zaccagnini Institute
  • Japan: Yoshiki Takagiwa – Principal Researcher at National Institute for Materials Science
  • Mexico: José Amador Honorato Salazar – Research Scientist at the Experimental Centre, Puebla of the National Research Institute of Forestry, Agriculture and Livestock
  • Morocco: Jaafar Mounir Benabbou – Co-founder and General Manager of Solar E-Cycles
  • The Netherlands: Süleyman Er – Research Group Leader – Autonomous Energy Materials Discovery
  • Norway: Annemie Wyckmans – Professor and lead of NTNU Smart Sustainable Cities at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Republic of Korea: Sang Jun Sim – Professor, Department of chemical and biological engineering at Korea University
  • Saudi Arabia: Malak T. Al-Nory – Provost of Effat University
  • Sweden: Jan G. Skjoldhammer – Founder and CEO NoviOcean
  • United Arab Emirates: Ehab El-Saadany – Director of the Advanced Power and Energy Center (APEC)
  • United Kingdom: Michaela Kendall – CEO of Adelan

“Every day, talented and audacious people across the globe are creating clean energy solutions to make the planet a better place. In the current times, these innovators, inspired by their dreams of a sustainable future, bring hope and optimism to citizens. I warmly congratulate our Mission Innovation Champions whose achievements will inspire citizens around the globe to embark on the transition to clean energy.”

Mariya Gabriel
Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth
European Commission

About the Mission Innovation Champions Program

The Mission Innovation Champions Program seeks to celebrate and support innovative individuals who are accelerating the clean energy revolution by working on key clean energy research and technology developments. By supporting cross-border exchanges of ideas and talent and building a community of visionaries committed to the promise of clean energy research and development, the program activates and engages a new generation of researchers, inventors and leaders.

The 2020 (second cohort) of Champions were announced during a virtual ceremony hosted by the European Commission on June 12, 2020.

The 2019 (first cohort) of Champions were announced at MI-4 in Vancouver, Canada on May 28, 2019.

NEW! Champions Corner! Read inspiring stories and interviews with some of the Mission Innovation Champions.

For more information, please visit the MI Champions website.